Fifteen Things to Give Up

Someone shared an interesting article with me:

http://www.purposefairy.com/3308/15-things-you-should-give-up-in-order-to-be-happy/

Seems interesting to me that someone would post this.  My observation of society reveals that people are caught up with themselves.  They are the centers of their own little universes, and when they collide with other universes, that’s when the sparks fly!  Kind of like stars crashing into each other.  People are self-consumed.  They want things on their time schedule and with as little effort as possible.  Everyone seems to be going around with the attitude of “I’m owed.”  Huh??

This article pretty much is telling people — get over yourselves!  Let go.  Most of the items I have done for the majority of my life.  But then, I’m a person that avoids conflict as much as possible.  It doesn’t mean I just roll over.  If it’s a cause worth fighting for, I’m there.  But most things are not worth fighting for, it’s easier and healthier to say “whatever” and just walk away.

Interestingly, predominantly this article (though the author may not realize it) is promoting being considerate of your fellow man.  Something good old fashioned courtesy accomplished.  When is the last time that value was taught?

I guess my two struggles would be the resistence to change, and attachments.  I don’t like change.  When I like something the way it is, I don’t like it to change.  That creates stress for me.

Overall, it’s an article most people in society need to hear and heed.  But I’m not holding my breath.

2 thoughts on “Fifteen Things to Give Up

  1. I’ve learned a lot about the need to feel in control and have finally recognized, after a long time, that we’re never in control anyway.

Leave a Reply

