TV, Movies and a little life….

 

We don’t have cable at our cabin, but we do have a tv and dvd player. So we always take a box of videos with us. We have an assortment of favorite movies and some episodes. About a year ago at Magic Mart I found the first season of F Troop. I had to snap that up. Hubby had never heard of it, which flabbergasted me. Hubby is a bit older than I am, so he is often more familiar with things from the sixties and seventies, where I’m a child of the eighties 😉 However, my mother and father were western fanatics, and in the eighties there was a Christian Family channel started that played only family quality shows all day. They played a lot of westerns. That channel introduced my brother and I to The Rifleman, The Virginian, Cimarron Strip, Laredo, Big Valley, Bonanza, Wagon Train and of course, F Troop. Oops, I forgot Branded. I liked the Chuck Connors westerns. Hubby had heard of most of those, but not F Troop. I introduced hubby that evening and he loved it. I loved the entire show. Ken Berry was fabulous as the hapless Captain Parmenter. Ken Berry isn’t a big name, probably practically unknown, but he ranks right up there with Dick Van Dyke. He does the same kind of over-the-top physical humor Dick Van Dyke did on the Dick Van Dyke show. Ken Berry had two or three appearances on the Dick Van Dyke show as choreographer for the Alan Brady show. I think that shows that dancers make the best physical comedians. We agreed that it was a shame that F Troop only lasted two seasons. I also had to introduce hubby to Bruce Campbell. I learned of him the short-lived tv series The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr. A few years later he did some guest spots on the Hercules and Xena tv series as the King of Thieves. I loved that character. Then he did a one year half hour show called Jack of All Trades which hubby loved.

 

On this trip we brought the first season of F Troop (haven’t gotten the second season yet), the first season of Monk, the first season of The Dick Van Dyke Show, both seasons of The Addams Family, seasons 1997 and 1998 of The Red Green Show, the complete Granada series of Sherlock Holmes starring Jeremy Brett, the 2009 Sherlock Holmes movie, Iron Man, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, and Maverick.

 

I also brought some card games. I love to play card games, but we don’t play them very often. I brought Hand and Foot, and Canasta Caliente. I’d like to try playing Head-to-Head Poker too. It’s just a two player game, but ordinary poker isn’t much fun to play with just two players. Maybe I’ll get him to play one of those games tonight. I think we’ve watched enough tv.

 

We ran into town today to find out if there were any trapping supply stores around. The local hardware store carries traps, not not dye or wax. No one knew of anything. The neighbor is in today to do lawn care and to set up some friends with a cabin for the weekend. I walked down there to check online if there was anything in Lewisburg, the closest town. All I could find was potentially a beekeeper. We can always use black walnut hulls for dye, but we need wax, and bees wax is really good if you can get it deodorized, maybe mixed with a little paraffin. Paraffin itself is not good because it tends to crack in cold weather. The neighbor gave hubby permission to trap on his property. He wants to get rid of the beaver and said there are also otter and muskrat. While in town we ran into the plumber again. He hadn’t shown up yet to finish our work. He came right out and is working on it now. I hate to think this about him, but I’m not sure he would be out here working if he hadn’t ran into him again. Hubby is down there helping him. I’m sitting in the livingroom, watching Sherlock Holmes again 🙂 I admit that when I heard Guy Ritchie was making a movie on Shelock Holmes starring Robert Downey, Jr. I was ready to boycott and protest. I was no fan of RDJ. All I’d ever heard about him was the troubled, self-destructive star who was in and out of court, rehab and jail. People like that rarely turn their lives around. Granted I hadn’t heard much about him until Iron Man. My brother is a big fan of Marvel comics so he has gone out to see every movie. He was trying to get me to watch Iron Man, but I was no fan of comics turned movies or RDJ, so I adamently refused and kept refusing. Then, we were at Circuit City at the front of the store waiting for Mom to check out and they had a movie playing on a big screen tv. It was the scene from Iron Man where he tangles with the two US jets. It’s an awesome scene. When it was over it was time to leave and walking out I turned to my brother and told him he won, I had to see the movie. I’m a sucker for action movies, especially when there is comedy included. We watched the movie at the camp over Thanksgiving break. I had to grudgingly admit that RDJ did a fantastic job, but then I pictured him personally much like the Tony Stark character. This was the problem I had — I couldn’t see Tony Stark making a good Sherlock Holmes. Also, I am quite the Sherlock snob. Once Granada did the Holmes stories with Jeremy Brett as the master detective, they ruined all other interpretations for me. To me, Jeremy Brett IS Holmes personified, no one before and no one afterwards will ever come close. Last year for my anniversary my brother got me the complete Granada series. I was in heaven. Most people who do anything Sherlock Holmes for a larger audience (larger meaning people who are only passingly familiar with the detective, not a devotee like my brother and I) ruin it. They tamper with the character because people don’t understand him. They use lame plot lines, etc. So, from the first mention of this happening I was on the warpath. I was going to boycott the movie and badmouth it to anyone who would listen. Then hubby and I went to the movies on my birthday to see New Moon. Yes, dear reader, I am a TwiFan. That story for another time, perhaps. In the previews before New Moon they had a trailer for Sherlock Holmes. The one particular scene they showed was in the dry dock where Dredger and Holmes are fighting and the ship being built there ends up in the water. It is an action scene and it peaked my morbid curiosity. I got home and told my brother, they are going to make me watch this darn movie!! I was convinced that the movie was going to be utter crap. I have seen some previews of movies in the past where the parts shown looked really good, got my hopes up and when I saw the movie realized the five scenes in the preview was the only decent parts of the movie, the rest of it was a major waste of time. Chicago comes to mind…. Anyway, we all went to see the movie the day after Christmas and from the opening my brother and I were hooked. I ended up going back and seeing the movie about four times, the last time just before it left theaters. I thought I was going to die before it came out on dvd (but I expected it to be about a six month wait like it is for Twilight movies) but fortunately it was out within the month. I was watching it at least once a week for three months afterwards…. Now the second movie is coming out in December. I’ve seen the trailer and I can’t wait. The writing is so witty. That and the fact that my favorite character from the first movie, Clarky, is back. I love Clarky, especially where he pulls Holmes’ leg in the movie and watches him squirm before letting him off the hook. My brother and I loved how they incorporated actual lines from the Holmes stories into dialogue in the movie. We also loved how they cleverly brought out that Holmes also spoke French, as he fights Dredger who only speaks French. My brother and I both said the line in French that Holmes said in response to Watson’s question: “Je ne sais pas.” My brother and I both took French in high school. The only other thing I can say about the movie is that I WANT the hat RDJ was wearing in the cemetary.

 

There was a lot of hoopla when the movie came out about Ritchie and Downey “reinventing” Sherlock Holmes. What they were particually talking about was the fact that Downey actually kicks butt in this movie as Holmes. Any Holmes devotee knows that Holmes was an expert boxer and martial artist and could hold his own in any fight. There are stories where he actually does fight, but they are very few. Typically he uses his head to outwit people and solve the crimes. However, almost all portrayals of Holmes never included his ability to fight in them, which is what made this movie so provocative to people. To those of us who are intimately familiar with Holmes, it wasn’t such a surprise. It was actually quite refreshing to see such a portrayal. RDJ does give Holmes a quirkiness that maybe is a bit of creative leeway from the character, but he pulls it off and it isn’t unfaithful to Doyle’s writing.

 

Well, seems like the plumber is done. Looks like we will be going back into town to call my brother so he can send out a check ASAP. I don’t feel like cooking today. I’m probably going to cook all day tomorrow for hubby’s birthday. I don’t think he realizes it’s his birthday tomorrow. Unless there is some reason for him to be paying attention to the date he loses all track of time. He forgets what day it is, as well as what the date is. It will be a nice surprise for him — sausage and apple casserole and apple walnut spice cake for dessert. Yum.

Leave a Reply

