Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving was a little different for us this year, but in a good way.  We had some friends who found themselves for one reason or another without a “home” for Thanksgiving, so we invited them to celebrate with us.  Thanksgiving and Christmas were never big affairs for us, because we don’t have a large family.  We typically ate with people we saw all year anyway.  After my grandma passed away, it was even more small.  So this year it turned out to be a real party.  I cooked two turkeys, wild rice and cranberry dressing, sweet potatoes and a neapolitan cake.  My friend brought caramel apple puffs, french silk pie and made green beans and a carrot casserole.  Another friend brought pumpkin pie and pecan pie.  My mother made potato salad, mashed potatoes, brought rolls and two pumpkin rolls.

Needless to say, no one went hungry.  Since we were having so many people, I thought it was a good time to introduce everyone to Bunco, which is a dice game.  Our friends also thought it was time to introduce us to a game they have gotten addicted to — Texas Hold’em.  So the first entertainment for the evening was a Texas Hold’em tournament.  Surprisingly my son won the game.  I think he benefitted from the fact that there were two people in the game bent on putting the other under and they ended up bringing each other down, which then left my son and my brother in the game, with my brother holding very few chips.  My brother went all in a couple of times trying to end the game and it kept going so he folded.  We then went on to Bunco.  I don’t think the Texas Hold’em crew thought it would be very exciting, but in the end it turned out to be, especially since there were prizes to be had at the end.  The funny thing was that all our scores were very close.

So, fun was had by all, and I’ve heard that the guy who was shoving Texas Hold’em down our throats (he showed up with so many chips I thought Las Vegas had come to town….) was still talking about BUNCO the next day.  Hee hee.  So we are all looking forward to Christmas, which kicks off with a slumber party on Christmas Eve (wonder if anyone will mind a group of people high on hot chocolate out caroling at midnight??) and will probably end with marathon runs of Texas Hold’em and Bunco the next day….

Leave a Reply

