Dreaded Week Two

As I started off on my NaNoWriMo preparations I picked up a copy of Chris Baty’s “No Plot No Problem” on half.com as well as the NaNoWriMo Writer’s Kit.  There is a certain chapter in the book to read each week for pep talks and pointers.  In the kit there are cards numbered for each day of the month that give writing tips and prompts.  According to the book week two is the killer.  This is the week that makes or breaks many participants.  Evidently week two is where the plot kind of hits the wall.  Week one seems to be easy because you are introducing and developing characters and they kind of take on a life of their own.  I have to admit that the warnings about week two seemed exaggerated, because my story was moving along fine.  Then this morning hits.  My plot brought me naturally to a point that presents me with a conundrum.  What my character finds could reveal everything to her too quickly.  So how do I get out of this spot?  I’m taking a break to think things through.  So welcome to week two.

Besides this little sticky wicket I’ve encountered it’s been going pretty well.  I hope to be a day ahead of the word count by this evening and hope to get at least another day ahead during the upcoming write-ins this weekend.  It will be great to catch up with some other writers and catch a fresh wind to carry me into week three.

Leave a Reply

