Crochet Daze

dogwood blossom baby blanket

This is what I’ve been up to.  Crocheting is how I deal with stress — it’s how I relax.  These are two pretty patterns I acquired and just had to do them.

The first one is a dogwood blossom baby blanket.  I tried to start out with a different kind of yarn, baby yarn I could get locally without having to drive twenty miles away to wal-mart.  But, they only had white and light pink and I only got a few rows done when i needed to switch to the dark pink.  So when I went to walmart i just got all new yarn — the kind called for in the pattern. 

filet crochet cross and rose baby blanket

I’ve had this pattern for awhile and just got around to doing it.  To be honest I’m putting off assembling another afghan I have waiting in the wings.  This past winter I crocheted 86 hexagon snowflake motifs and got bogged down when I started trying to whip stitch them together.  I hate sewing stuff in crochet.  I learned a way of joining blocks together with crochet so I’ll give that a try.  But it’s easier to just work  on a blanket that is all one piece, more or less.  I didn’t really like how the rose turned out, but that was the pattern design.  If I do this again I may try a different rose pattern.

variations on a theme CAL afghan

This afghan I started in January as part of a crochet-a-long (CAL) a designer was sponsoring on her blog.  I got bogged down and didn’t keep up with it.  But I did finally get it finished.  Part of why I didn’t finish with everyone else was that the pattern she was giving was just going to make a throw and I wanted a blanket.  So I crocheted more squares and rectangles than it called for.  I started out with a color scheme — alternating six colors for the blocks, but eventually i ran out of those colors and couldn’t find more yarn the same color or just could afford to buy it, so I had to start including other colors from skeins I had lying around.  It’s not something I would normally do.  I’m not one to just throw a bunch of colors together that don’t really match, but I stepped out of my OCD comfort zone for this.  Everyone tells me it’s beautiful.  I say, at least it’s finished!
One thought on “Crochet Daze

  1. I must agree with everyone.. it is beautiful, very beautiful.
    Not sure if you are interested in selling that sort of thing, but if you are, ( and you may already know about it) Etsy is a good site that only allows ( Handmade-Crafts) etc…and Vintage items. I have a store there. Unfortunately, I am not blessed to create things other than on paper, or with Guitar in hand. I therefore am limited to only listing Vintage items on the Etsy site, but, it’s a great outlet for artist and folks like you, they even have some sewing workshops etc…which, I really haven’t a clue about other than it seems to be a “Close Knit” group, pardon the pun. Anyway, the cost for Etsy is VERY LOW… not sure on the closing fee’s should you sell something…I think it’s maybe 3.5 percent, or something like that…but only cost you 0.20 per item to list for 4 Months. If you are prolific in your art, or happen to have some stuff that you have created and would like to see what you could do with it I would go to Etsy and just have a look around, I KNOW you have the BEAUTIFUL Art to sell there.. God Bless you
    paul

Leave a Reply

