Character Sketches (Methods)

Journaling can also be used as a tool for creative writing — whether it be fiction or non-fiction.  What makes or breaks writing are the characters.  Are they believable?  Can the reader relate to them?  Doing character sketches in your journal can help make you more observant of the world around you, and can be very revealing when you do one about yourself!  To make it easy, start out with a fill-in chart:

Character Profile

Male or Female?

Age

Appearance:

Hair color

Eye color

Shape of face

Height

Weight

Birthmarks

Other distinguishing marks

Skin type

Skin tone

Predominant feature

Type of body/build

Personality:

What things will get the character angry?

Sad?

Frightened?

Upset?

Happy?

Excited?

How does the character act for each of those emotions?

How does the character deal with these emotions?

What is the character’s favorite saying?

What quirks does the character have?

What does the character to that is annoying?

Endearing?

What nervous gestures does the character make?

What gestures does the character have when angry?

Sad?

Frightened?

Upset?

Happy?

Excited?

Does the character make friends easily?  Why?

Is the character outgoing or withdrawn?  Why?

Is the character serious or jovial?

Does the character have a positive or negative outlook on life?  Why?

Start collecting a series of character sketches about those you know best.  Including yourself.

[tweetmeme source=”trapperhoney” only_single=false]

One thought on “Character Sketches (Methods)

  1. Wow, that’s very good information, and I really need all the help I can get when it comes to story writing. I have one started actually, but, I have never actually written anything more than study type stuff. But, as I was researching, and writing my Sons of Enoch study, I found myself really wanting to write a fictitious, or faction I guess would be closer to the term, about those living in Egypt, just around what I believe to be the time of the Exodus; 1500 B.C.
    based on my research. Now, If I only had the time and know how…maybe I will get back to writing on it sometime. It’s called, “From Whence the Others Came”if you ever have enough time to run through it, I would appreciate any, and all insight that you would care to offer…Even critical ones…
    Well, I better accept critical ones, cause, that’s probably all I will get from anyone on it at this point.
    God Bless you
    paul

Leave a Reply

