Neopolitan Pound Cake

Saturday we attended our family reunion.  The Hoskins Family.  We converge on the old home town of Coal Grove, OH once a year to catch up with each other.  Mom always brings homemade potato salad (our secret Margaret Kincaid family recipe) and I have started the tradition of bringing a neopolitan pound cake.  I got the recipe free in some coupon book that came in the mail — unsolicited, I might add.  I have been asked for the recipe, so I will include it here.

Neopolitan Pound Cake

Ingredients:

1 8oz pkg cream cheese, at room temperature

4 large eggs

1 18.25oz pkg white cake mix

3/4 cup milk

3/4 cup Nestle Nesquik Chocolate Flavor Powder

3/4 cup Nestle Nesquik Strawberry Flavor Powder

Powdered Sugar (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour 10-inch, 12-cup fluted tube cake pan.

Beat cream cheese and eggs in a large mixer bowl until smooth.  Beat in cake mix alternately with milk.  Beat on high speed for 2 minutes (batter will be thick).  Remove 2 cups batter and place in separate bowl; stir in chocolate flavor powder.  Remove 2 more cups white cake batter and place in separate bowl; stir in strawberry flavor powder.

Spoon strawberry batter into prepared pan; tap pan on counter lightly.  Spoon white batter over strawberry batter covering it completely; spoon chocolate batter over white batter covering it completely.

Bake on center oven rack for 55 to 65 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in cake comes out clean.  Cool in pan on wire rack for 45 minutes.  Loosen edges with rubber spatula if needed; invert onto wire rack to cool completely.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.  Makes 16 servings.

IF you need icing, I would recommend a cream cheese icing that you dribble over the cake.

a scrumptious cake

This cake is a HUGE hit everywhere I take it.  I ended up making a cake while at my sister’s yesterday.  She was having company that evening and I am sure it came in handy.  I would like to hear how it went over with them 🙂

My son went through the line at the reunion and when he sat down beside me he had three slices of this cake on his plate.  I promptly took two and passed them out to other members of the family at the table, stressing to him that he takes one and waits until others have taken what they want before going back for seconds.  Kids!

Of course Sis’s kids were trying to get a slice of the cake before dinner yesterday….

the huge crowd of 2010

Somebody in the family had the bright idea to get married on Saturday, so our number was down this year.  Evidently we were the ones not invited.

We also learned one of our older relatives just passed away that morning.

We had also had to change the date (though we knew this last year) which the family isn’t used to yet.  So all those things worked against us.  But those of us who were there, we had fun!  I have learned that my husband and my second cousin should not have any contact with each other.

[tweetmeme source=”trapperhoney” only_single=false]

8 thoughts on “Neopolitan Pound Cake

  1. Recipe? Heck, I just want to be invited to your next church social. I don’t know a lot about Ohio, though I do have one of my 4 sisters who lives up in Warren, Ohio. Been there only once, but didn’t get out much.

    Yeah, now talk about Pawn Stars…I DO wish that someone else on the show would keep that “Cuss Jar” the old man started going. But, I guess after he got a jar full he cussed all the way to the bank anyway.

    Thanks for reading and commenting…Chumlee is definitely the real Pawn Star in my opinion too.
    God Bless you.
    paul

  2. Yeah, he was bleeped like 3 times as he emptied the jar, and stuffed the money in his pockets. Must have wanted to eat out that night or something. Hey, I think the Pawn Star post inspired a little TV chat on another Blog-friends site, and she’s excited that the Top Chef Show is being hosted in her town DC this month… she’s great people, and will help drive the traffic to you as well. Check it out over @

    http://mirellamccracken.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/top-chef-dc-and-new-york-housewives-the-magic-of-reality/#comment-850

    And don’t forget little ole me; I love Top Chef and cooking shows, but, as far as the real housewives, I’ll stick to miss kitty, and Bewitched maybe. lol
    Great stuff here as always keep it coming.
    God Bless you
    paul

  3. Oh, you might want to look into the Re Tweet buttons, you don’t really have to be a Twitter freak to use it, you do have to open a Twitter account, but, that’s about all I know about how to use mine.

    • i have added the retweets. don’t know anything about that twitter stuff, but i figure it can’t hurt.

      yeah, i guess the Old Man doesn’t subscribe to “lead by example” but “do as I say, not as I do.”

  4. Hey, the Retweet also allows you one retweet per entry yourself, and like you said, it can’t hurt. You have some very valuable information here on your site, and it needs to get out there.

    I know that a Niche does work for gaining traffic and comments, because, the majority of those who build a specific how to blog site, just because they know it draws traffic stay full up in the thread department. Even though the ones I’ve been to, didn’t have a real clue as to how to write a blog. You really have something special, it should be seen more.

    What get’s me on some, or one of those reallycoolblogthroughmetippy sites, is that the person is persistent in telling others how good of a writer one must be to succeed in writing a good blog; And there are only like 12 typo’s in the in the first post I read.

    Oh well, to each their own. I write whatever the Spirit inspires me to write, and whatever, He allows me to write, whenever and whatever it may be.
    God Bless

    • i completely understand and agree! you know, as long as you are responsible about typos and general grammar, there really aren’t rules about writing — staying true to your voice is what matters, because you can’t please everyone with your writing, so it’s important to connect with those who relate to your voice.

Leave a Reply

